The ESAFORM Scientific Prize

The ESAFORM Scientific Prize is awarded annually. The prize is 2000 Euros. It intends to recognize a young scientist, who has brought an outstanding contribution in the field of materials forming. This contribution may be either theoretical, or experimental, or both. It may concern any kind of materials (metals, polymers, composites, ceramics, glass, concrete, food materials…) and any forming process (rolling, forging, sheet forming, casting, machining, extrusion, injection moulding, blow moulding…). The excellence of the candidate will be evaluated on following points :

  • Quality of the scientific work confirmed by publications
  • International networking
  • Leadership of a research team
  • Research not only focused on a single topic
  • Balanced activities: academic work, research projects

The scientists awarded are the following:

  • 2020 - Dr. Junhe Lian, Aalto University, Finland
  • 2019 - Prof. Benjamin Klusemann, Leuphana University Lüneburg, Germany
  • 2018 - Dr. Antonello Astarita, University of Naples “Federico II”, Italy
  • 2017 - No scientific prize was awarded this year
  • 2016 - Prof. Swantje Bargmann, Hamburg University of Technology, Hamburg, Germany
  • 2015 - Dr. Lukasz Madej, University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland
  • 2014 - Dr. Tuncay Yalçinkaya, Oxford University, UK
  • 2013 - Dr. Gianluca Buffa, University of Palermo, Italy
  • 2012 - No scientific prize was awarded this year
  • 2011 - Ricardo Alves de Sousa, University of Aveiro, Portugal; Domenico Umbrello, University of Calabria, Italy
  • 2010 - No scientific prize was awarded this year
  • 2009 - Amine Ammar, University of Grenoble, France
  • 2008 - Laurent Delannay, UC Louvain, Belgium
  • 2007 - Luigino Filice, University of Calabria, Italy
  • 2006 - Elias Cueto, University of Zaragoza, Spain; Jose Luis de Carvalho Martins Alves, University of Minho, Portugal
  • 2005 - Dr. Pierre-Olivier Bouchard, CEMEF, France
  • 2004 - Thierry Barrière, University of Franche Comté, France
  • 2003 - Andrew Long, University of Nottingham, UK
  • 2002 - Eduardo Car, CIMNE, Spain
  • 2001 - Rui L. Reis, University of Minho, Portugal; André Luciani, Péchiney, France, 2nd prize
  • 2000 - Francisco Chinesta, CNAM, France; Jean-Marie Drezet, EPFL, Switzerland, 2nd prize
  • 1999 - Luis Filipe Menezes, University of Coimbra, Portugal

In 2013, after the Scientific Prize, the following scientists have been awarded with the jury's special prize:

  • António Andrade Campos, University of Aveiro, Portugal
  • Marc Bernacki, Mines ParisTech, France
  • Ivaylo Vladimirov, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

International Journal of Material Forming

ESAFORM Book Series

The Japan Society for Technology of Plasticity

The Japan Society for Technology of Plasticity

The Italian Association of Manufacturing Technology